RSS Feed

What the Frack!?

Fracking, or hydrolic fracture mining of natural gas, is safe and plentiful, and it is dangerous and overstated. Politics has dictated and cajoled in the discussion about whether fracking is safe, and I don’t hope to resolve all of the issues, but felt that as I could summarize and enumerate the arguments succinctly for everyone. Feel free  to add to this.

Feelin’ Frack-tastic!

  • Tiny Footprint for mining
  • Drills well below aquifers
  • “Small amounts of additives we use every day around our households”
  • Water could be lit on fire before drilling

Frack No, we won’t go!

  • Examples of lighting water on fire
  • Current boom means installations are flouting laws and regulators
  • higher methane, and industry won’t release baseline numbers
  • water pollution from “wash up”

Tell me where I’m missing key points!

About humourologist

A man who is interested in almost everything, I am a writer, blogger, and political junkie since long before graduating from Pacific Lutheran University. Currently an Action For Washington fellow and content editor, I was a maintenance guy (including groundskeeping) for 3.5 years. I enjoy applying the inarguable principles of mundane life to big ideas, and I get beat up a lot for doing this.

2 responses »

  1. I know very little about this topic beyond what you’ve posted here so I don’t have a strong opinion. However, given the fact that MASSIVE fresh water shortages are projected in the next 30 years due to a combination of polution, aquifer depletion, and climate change; I’m inclined ot object to anything that would threaten fresh water supplies.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

